Finnish Easter Traditions.

On Wednesday I went to a Easter crafts event, as part of Get Finternational a module I’m taking whilst studying in Turku. I found out a lot about the Easter traditions Finland have. Additionally, it gave me a further insight into Finnish culture, history and traditions.

The main thing I learn from this event, was about Finnish Easter time. Which, allowed me to identify the similarities and differences of the traditions Finland have in comparison to my home country, Northern Ireland. There are few few similarities, for example the Easter story and eating chocolate eggs. However, there are also many traditions which are different.

During the event, I made an Easter card, painted a glass jar, which I planted rairuoho in. Rairuoho, rai grass is a special grass which traditional to grow at Easter time. As you can tell from the picture below, my arts and crafts standards are those of a child, but I think they are still pretty cute.

20170414_150210.jpg

I also tried mämmi, which looked like a sludgy dark brown pudding. It is made out of malt and rye flour. I was a bit wary on tasting it, but it was okay. I don’t think I could eat it without the vanilla cream though and it definitely would not be my dessert of choice.

Others made virpomisvitsat, which are decorated willow branches. Children dress up as cats, rabbits or witches and go door to door with their virpomisvitsat, reciting a traditional rhyme to wish people good luck and to ban of evil spirits, in exchange for a sweet treat.

The event was good, although I’m not good at arts and crafts I still enjoy it, and it was a fun interactive way to learn about Finnish Easter time traditions. It allowed me to understand traditions and take part in some during the event, just in time for the Easter weekend.

12/04/2017.

Leave a comment