A Day on a Finnish Farm.

On Saturday Kathryn and I got the bus to Aura, where Anniina was waiting to take us to her house for  fun day in the country-side. When we arrived at Anniina’s house her mum had made us a delicious lunch of Karjalanpaisti, Karelian stew. The recipe from the stew came from Anniina’s Great Grandmothers recipe, who was from Karelia. After this we had tea and Korvapuusti, cinnamon rolls, which were amazing!

After our yummy lunch we got read to go to their family farm.

The farm used to belong to Anniina’s Grandparents, but now her Dad runs it as more of a hobby and side-business. He had a John Deere tractor and a John Deere Gator for us to drive. I tried out the Gator first and once I got the hang of it, it was so much fun raking about the fields! I then had a go on the John Deere Tractor, which went a lot slower. Anniina’s Dad gave me the instructions and then we were off! I drove about a large field for a while and he showed me some of the other functions the tractor had.

We then parked the Gator and tractor up and had a look about the farm. He showed us some of his other tractors as well as where he stores and dries the seeds, and we also had a look at the sauna building and pond.

We then headed back to the house and made the Finnish drink Sima (mead).

IMG-20170422-WA0039
Click on this picture to read my blog post on making Sima!

It was a fun day, accompanied by every seasons weather! But it was a great experience and I can say I have driven a tractor now, I’m sure my Daddy will be proud!

22/04/2017.

 

 

Leave a comment