Studying at TUAS, in comparison to My home University.

University life in Finland is very different to home, as the modules have a small number of or no classes. Therefore, I spend very little time at university, and instead I spend a lot more time at practical placement. The university seems to be more of a training college for vocations, which focuses on social work and practical skills rather than education. Unlike my home university, which delivers daily lectures that focus more upon giving us the knowledge and theories required. My home university then expects and requires us to use and apply this knowledge and theories within essays and during practical placement. Therefore, studying at Turku University of Applied Sciences is very different to what I am used to. For example, teachers at Turku University of Applied Sciences, have propose that this course is focused more upon learning by doing. For instance, placement is seen as a very important opportunity to develop yourself professionally and apply existing or new knowledge. Therefore, a majority of the students who are Finnish are studying whilst working. Additionally, learning is very independent, as you are not given very much information and I assume you are expected to already have it or discover it for yourself. Which, has developed my ability to study and work more independently. A challenge that I have faced during class or meetings with Finnish students and teachers, is the language differences. As it can be hard for them to translate services and professional or technical terms into English. This can result in them having discussions in Finnish, so I don’t know what is going on and I miss out on information or miscommunications occur. However, has allowed me to develop my communication skills further. Overall, I am enjoying this experience of a different learning style and developing my skills and knowledge of the Finnish system, as well as getting to know other students.

21/04/2017.

Leave a comment