Turku Medieval Walking Tour.

Today I took part in a Medieval walking tour in Turku. During this event, we got a short tour that began in Kupittaa Park. It took us from 19th century Spa park to Medieval Turku. The tour ended by the iconic Turku Cathedral.

The tour began at St Henrik’s Spring, this is a yellow wooden building with a spring inside, which was used as a spa during medieval times. We then walked a few blocks down the street from Kupitta park. We stopped and our tour guide told us about a toxic lake that used to be here. It was removed due this area being an industrial area, so a lot of waste from the people who lived in the area and industrial waste and toxins filled the lake. Therefore, it had to be removed.

We then carried on walking for a few more blocks and stopped by one of Turku’s seven hills. This particular hill was where criminals were hanged and left to warn people entering the city. As the hill is very close to one of the main roads which takes you into Turku. Some of the execution site still remains at the top of this hill.

We then walked towards Turku Cathedral. We stopped just behind the back of the Cathedral at the academic circle, which is a metal circle engraved with Turku’s five universities, and the year they were established. One of which was established by Swedish Queen Christina.

We then moved round to the side of the Cathedral, where the old entrance is. Beside the old entrance is a statue of Mikael Argricola, who was a Lutheran clergyman who became the de facto founder of literary Finnish.

right-img-placeholder.gif

We then crossed the road and stood in the middle of the old market place and old town hall are located.

250px-Vanha_Suurtori,_Turku,_Katedralskolan

The event was really interesting, and explained some of the history of Turku throughout the years. I enjoyed the event as I found out about the use of some buildings past and present, which I have wondered about since I came to Turku. I feel that it is important that I learn about the history of Turku, out of respect and because it interests me as an individual. I have learnt a lot about the history of Turku already during my time here. However, most of the information given today was new to me. This allowed me to build a clearer picture of Turku throughout history. I have done further research on the historical places we visited during the tour, and discovered more information and images of what it was like in the past. I really enjoyed this event as it opened my eyes to historical places in Turku which I pass every day, and had yet to know the significance of in Turku’s history.

19/04/2017.

Leave a comment